Hire The Law Firm That Keeps
California Car Dealers Honest

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Auto Fraud
  4.  » No Title / Registration / Smog

Helping You With Title, Registration And Smog Concerns

California has unique requirements for smog inspections, and title and registration renewals. When an auto dealer fails to smog vehicles before selling them or fails to properly transfer the car title to you, you may have a valid claim for auto fraud.

The experienced legal team at Auto Law Firm, PC can help you file a claim and get your money back. With years of focusing their practice on auto fraud and lemon law claims, Auto Law Firm, PC‘s legal team understands what you are going through. You can trust attorney Klitzke’s proven track record of results, including winning recognition for having one of California’s top 100 verdicts in 2022.

Failure To Smog A Vehicle

California Dealers, just like everyone else, are required to smog vehicles before selling them. Failure to smog a vehicle will cause the DMV to block title transfers and registration of the vehicle.

Anyone can check the California smog history of a vehicle with the VIN or license plate number at https://www.bar.ca.gov/services/vehicle/pubtstqry.aspx. If the vehicle was not smogged pre-sale, then Auto Law Firm, PC, can help get your money back from the dealer.

Title And Registration Concerns

California Dealers are required to register and transfer title to you (or the finance company if you have a loan) within 15 days of receiving payment. At the time of purchase, the dealer should give you a paper license plate and a 90-day temporary registration. The DMV should complete the registration and title transfer within 90 days. If the dealer fails to get the registration and title transfer done, Auto Law Firm, PC, can help get your money back from the dealer.

When Is Your Vehicle Allowed To Not Have A Smog Inspection In California?

When you renew a registration or register a vehicle in California, you must complete a smog inspection at a DMV-authorized smog check station.

However, vehicles that do not require a smog inspection include:

  • Gasoline-powered vehicles from 1975 or older
  • Gasoline-powered vehicles that are less than eight years old
  • Diesel-powered vehicles from 1997 or older or with a Gross Vehicle Weight above 14,000 pounds
  • Vehicles powered by natural gas weighing more than 14,000 pounds
  • Electric vehicles

When you sell a vehicle, you must give the new owner a valid smog certification when you transfer the title and registration, unless the car is less than four years old.

Don’t Wait To Get Started On Your Auto Law Claim

Whether you purchased a car in San Diego, Los Angeles, Sacramento, or elsewhere in the state Auto Law Firm, PC, stands ready to help clients throughout the entire California. To schedule a free consultation call 619-878-7037 or fill out an online contact form to get started on your case.